Next Year’s Curriculum

So I have alot of work to get next year’s school together but that is ok, I can’t complain as the Lord has blessed us with so many great resources either for free or cheap! I know this is going to sound like alot, and believe me, I am looking forward to the day when I can just get one pkg deal, but for now I am excited!
For Maddie I have ( or will get soon) (1st grade)
Handwriting w/o Tears My Printing Book (if you have any leads on a used TM, let me know)
Language Lessons for Little Ones V3 (found this secondhand unused $12, the same lady had LL Elementary for same price so I went ahead and got that one as well)
Singapore Math we are still working our way through 1A, will need 1B @ some point next year.
15 readers I found online for $13 (used)
Logic- I am using several freebie ebooks from TOS and also a feww Highlights puzzlemania books.
For TT:
I bought My Father’s World Kindergarden (basic pkg) used $40
Handwriting w/o Tears Prek I might get the wkbk to do with her again because I did not have the sense to make copies the first time and I do not feel she is ready for the Kindergarden book.
Picture Study- either abcgallery.com or Come Look With Me books, not sure yet, she really enjoyed LLLO V1 but not ready for V2.
MAYBE- Developing the Early Learner series and BTS Beginnings from Critical Thinking ( not at the same time, one per semester)

For both:
Creation unit study, given to me, This was written from a Seventh Day Adventist perspective and some of the things in the beginning and end are pretty weird IMHO, but the 7 day creation is great and goes into alot of detail with suggested experiments and activities. I have added many other resources to my binder so this should make for a really fun learning experience. I think it will fit well with MFW K, although I have to admit it will take alot of work on my part to get it all together. This is the direction God has led me though, so I think I am going to be learning patience!
Latin- I can’t remember the name but it is the cd and TM with the monkey on it. DH is quite sure that Latin is very important and he has agreed to this fun version for now! I found this on ebay, won for $16 with shipping compared to $44 + shipping new.

I would love to hear your thoughts.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • rachel  On April 10, 2010 at 12:17 am

    Hi Megan,
    Hang in there with the schooling…I feel that each year gets better than the last. Have you tried http://www.homeschoolclassifieds.com for buying and selling of used books? I’ve worked with them for about 3 years.

    • walkinintheway  On April 15, 2010 at 6:15 pm

      i have things listed all over the place, i think i have used homeschoolclassifieds but no responses, i find there is more accountibility with half.com anyway, only problem is that there is alot of competition, so i have to advertise my page to try to get people to buy from me specifically.

  • Nohea  On May 13, 2010 at 10:26 am

    How fun! I don’t know about you, but getting together the new curriculum and ideas for a school year is so much fun! I love it. One of my favorite tasks of teaching! I can’t wait to get into elementary education to be able to do this. ūüôā Your curriculum sounds great–hope you and your kiddos have fun with it!

    swap-bot partner

    kaydensmommy4e

Leave a Reply

